Problems With Drawing Feet

Polar AvatorI think the hardest part of a human body to draw is the hands. The 2nd hardest part is the feet. Luckily for most of us, the problem of drawing feet can be overcome with the use of shoes. At times like these, I wondered why I created a character that is barefooted? I’m just asking for it. Drawing feet is hard enough, drawing good looking feet is even more difficult.

I had a hard time with the feet while drawing page 20. I drew and erased 3 or 4 times before I finally gave up. The feet just did not look natural. In desperation, I took my digital camera and took a photo of my own feet. I had to take 10+ shots before I got the correct angle. Hopefully with a photo to refer to, it will be easier to draw the feet.

Note to self: Make sure all future characters wear covered shoes.

