A Night with Passion

Passion concert

What do you get when you mix game and anime theme songs with classical music? On 23rd December, Saturday, Rizou, Polar and Neko set out to find out. The venue- Victoria Concert Hall. The event: the Passion concert by Eminence.

seah cafe

We had some trouble locating the ticketing counter- neither the event banner or the signs on the ground floor said it was going to be on the second level. But we still arrived well in time for the concert. Phew!

I had almost forgotten what a pleasure it is to watch music being performed ‘live’. Just staying in a seat, not expecting to do or think anything else for two hours other than fill your ears and eyes with the music and the performers playing their hearts out. It was a much needed break from the daily race. And the music: it was like reliving many of the games and anime that I have played and watched. Yet not quite the same because of the presentation in classical music. My classical music muse came back from long exile, making an appearance somewhere around the third piece and began gleefully picking out different threads woven in by the different instruments in the ensemble – probably not very accurately, but it was fun J And I must confess I almost teared up midway through the achingly rendered “Radical Dreamers”(from the video game Chrono Cross) in guitar and violin. There were pieces from works I had not heard before also (like those from “Kirite” ), which made me really curious to find out what they were.

The night ended with enthusiastic clapping and an encore. I wish I could take that as a sign that everyone enjoyed the concert, but as we were preparing to leave Neko overheard some young men – apparently teenagers- commenting on how there were “mistakes” during a particular piece and how they “could play better”. While they are entitled to their opinion, I must say that like different artists have different styles, Different musicians may have different renditions of the same piece. Just because it is different from your own interpretation doesn’t mean it’s necessarily “bad”.

 

piano journeys

Perhaps it’s a sign of approaching old age 😛 but I find I my focus towards viewing artistic works is gradually shifting from how technically ‘perfect’ it is, to how well it brings its message across as a whole. If the final product can move and inspire, it doesn’t really matter if a single, non critical note within the multitudes is misplayed, or a single line does not have that perfect tapered finish. And for me, at least, the Eminence musicians have succeeded in their invocation of another time and place. And I am glad I was along for the ride.

